Buckwheat

buckwheatBuckwheat has more protein than rice, wheat, millet or corn and is high in the essential amino acids. In addition, buckwheat is gluten-free!

What is Buckwheat?

Buckwheat is a plant that can survive on low fertility soil and only requires a short season to mature. Buckwheat was cultivated in Southeast Asia more than 8,000 years ago and had since spread to different parts of the world.

Buckwheat seeds are used as grain though it is not a true grain. Buckwheat is not related to wheat as it is not a grass, and due to the fact that its seeds are eaten, it is considered a pseudo-cereal.

Buckwheat is more nutritious and energizing than most grains and is readily available throughout the year. It is commonly used as an alternative to grains especially for people with gluten allergy or celiac disease as it is gluten-free.

Buckwheat Nutrition

Buckwheat is high in nutritional values as compared to rice, wheat and corn, and thus is a good alternative to these grains.

Buckwheat Nutritional value per 100 g (3.5 oz)
Energy 343 kcal
Carbohydrates 71.5 g
Sugars 0 g
Dietary fiber 10 g
Fat 3.4 g
Saturated 0.741 g
Monounsaturated 1.04 g
Polyunsaturated 10.39 g
Protein 13.25 g
Vitamins
Thiamin (B1) 0.101 mg
Riboflavin (B2) 0.425 mg
Niacin (B3) 7.02 mg
Vitamin B-6 0.21 mg
Folate (B9) 0.03 mg
Vitamin A 0 IU
Vitamin C 0 mg
Vitamin E (alpha-tocopherol) 0 mg
Vitamin K (phylloquinone) 0 mg
Trace metals
Calcium 18 mg
Iron 2.2 mg
Magnesium 231 mg
Phosphorus 347 mg
Potassium 460 mg
Sodium 1 mg
Zinc 2.4 mg

Buckwheat Benefits

– Lowers cholesterol.

– Stabilize blood sugar levels.

– Reduce hypertension.

– Treats dysentery and diarrhea.

– Able to draw out excess fluid from swollen areas of our body.

– Prevents gallstones.

– Protects against heart diseases.

– Contains no gluten.

How to Eat Buckwheat

1. Buckwheat seeds are cooked and eaten as a grain alternative.

2. Buckwheat can be made into noodles and flour.

3. Buckwheat can be baked into bakery products.

4. Buckwheat can be used to make gluten-free beer.

5. Buckwheat can be added to soup or stew for the texture and flavor.

6. added to brown rice, casseroles or breads as flavorings.

Cautions:

Buckwheat can be an allergen to sensitive people.

Buckwheat contains fagopyrin which could cause light sensitivity, but as the grain contains very minimal amount, there are currently no known cases of light sensitivity issues from eating buckwheat.

Where to Buy Buckwheat?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *